

## Saskatoon Board of Education announces 2024 recipient of Award of Excellence

For immediate release: April 15, 2025 – 6:45 p.m.

Saskatoon Public Schools is proud to announce that Liam McKay-Argyriou, a graduate of Marion M. Graham Collegiate, has been selected as the 2024 recipient of the Board of Education's Award of Excellence. This is the division's highest honour for a graduating student. This award recognizes the most outstanding graduate from the previous school year based on excellence in academics, character, leadership and engagement.

Liam demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to academics, maintaining a near-perfect 99.7% overall academic average. He has been recognized nationally, receiving several prestigious awards including the <u>Governor General's Academic Medal</u> and the highly competitive <u>Loran Scholarship</u>—awarded to only 36 students across Canada.

Beyond academics, Liam has proven to be a passionate leader and community advocate. He founded and directed a student-produced podcast aimed at fostering connection and student wellness. As the co-president of his school's Student Representative Council (SRC) and a member of the <u>Library and Archives Canada Youth Advisory Council</u>, he actively contributed to school and community initiatives. His involvement extended to theatre, chess, badminton and volunteer work with the Nutrien Wonderhub and <u>RCMP Youth Advisory Committee</u> at both the national and provincial levels.

"Liam is a critical and creative thinker who enjoys academic challenges and seeks knowledge in all its forms," says Rick Iverson, principal of Marion M. Graham Collegiate. "Among his peers, he was considered a leader in the school and in his classes—not only through his achievement, but also through his willingness to help others achieve their best."

Established in 1990, the Award of Excellence is a symbol of the incredible talent, dedication and heart of Saskatoon Public Schools' students. The Board of Education is proud to celebrate students like Liam, whose hard work and leadership inspires those around them. In recognition of his accomplishments, Liam will receive a \$5,000 cash award and an installation outlining his achievements at the board of education office.

## **About the Award of Excellence**

Nominees for the annual Award of Excellence are identified by the principal and staff of the Saskatoon Public Schools' collegiates. All nominees receive a \$500 cheque in acknowledgement of their accomplishments. The nominees for 2024 were as follows:

• Roman Iula: Aden Bowman Collegiate

• Gurleen Kaur: Bedford Road Collegiate

• Caine Lofstrom: Centennial Collegiate

Maximilian Clark: Evan Hardy Collegiate

• Liam McKay-Argyriou: Marion M. Graham Collegiate

• Kian Cabarle: Mount Royal Collegiate

• Sana Nasrati: Nutana Collegiate

• Hargunjit Kaur: Tommy Douglas Collegiate

• Gina Han: Walter Murray Collegiate

A selection committee, comprised of senior administrators and board representatives, selected the award recipient from this pool of nominees.

The 2024 Award of Excellence recipient was announced at the start of the April 15, 2025 board meeting. Congratulations to our recipient and all our outstanding nominees.

-30-

Media Contact:

Colleen Cameron

CameronC@spsd.sk.ca