Skip to main content
Walter Murray Collegiate
Inspiring Learning

Walter Murray, Aden Bowman students receive Schulich Leader awards

June 07, 2018

Schulichawards.jpgTwo Saskatoon Public Schools students are among the recipients of one of Canada's most prestigious university scholarships.

Robin Wen (left in photo) of Walter Murray Collegiate and Vaidehee Lanke of Aden Bowman Collegiate have each been awarded Schulich Leader undergraduate scholarship valued at $80,000 over four years.

Lanke will study science at the University of Saskatchewan, while Wen will attend the University of Waterloo to study mathematics as part of the university's co-op program.

They are among 50 high school students from across Canada selected to receive the scholarships, which are awarded to students studying science, technology, engineering or math.

Students are nominated for the award by their schools. The student submits a scholarship application that includes a list of the universities they wish to attend; personal achievements, academic or otherwise; a short essay; and letters of reference.

The program's 20 Canadian university partners review the student applications using their own admissions process and make the offers to the Schulich Leader nominees.