Skip to main content
Charles Red Hawk Elementary School
News Item

​Names chosen for four new public elementary schools

October 11, 2016

SchoolNamesakes_web.jpgThe Saskatoon Board of Education has chosen the names for the four new public elementary schools in Saskatoon. The names are:

"Our board of trustees has chosen to honour four admirable individuals who have made incredible contributions to our community. The legacy of each of these four individuals represents the priorities of our school division, not to mention that they set an inspiring example for the students who will learn and grow in these new schools," said Board Chair Ray Morrison.

Public consultation with the new school communities resulted in many names being suggested, along with written and oral submissions from the public. Following research by division administration, board members deliberated and chose the four names.

"Sylvia Fedoruk was not only a pioneering female physicist, but also a selfless community advocate and successful athlete. Ernest Lindner is the father of arts education in Saskatoon Public Schools and a nationally recognized artist. Colette Bourgonje is the epitome of perseverance, having won 10 Paralympic medals and completing much of her training while a teacher with Saskatoon Public Schools. Chief Whitecap was one of the founders of Saskatoon and now, along with John Lake School, both founders are rightfully honoured," said Morrison.

"As advocates for public education being open to all, we feel these four names represent the diversity, strength and richness we value so much in our students."

Brief biographies of all four individuals are available as part of the division's news release.

Saskatoon Public Schools is the largest school division in the province. It operates 44 elementary schools, 11 secondary schools, two associate schools and one alliance school. It serves more than 24,000 students and employs approximately 2,400 professional and support staff. Learn more at