Skip to main content
Tommy Douglas Collegiate
Inspiring Learning
News Item

Tommy Douglas graduate receives Award of Excellence

January 05, 2017

AwardofExcellence_web.jpgShayna Uhryn, a graduate of Tommy Douglas Collegiate, has been chosen as a co-recipient of the 2016 Award of Excellence, presented by the Saskatoon Board of Education. The award is given annually to the student who best exemplifies the goals and values of Saskatoon Public Schools.

Uhryn graduated from Tommy Douglas Collegiate with a 97.3 per cent average. She received the SaskTel Aboriginal Youth Award of Excellence in Education, as well as the Saskatoon Public Schools Academic Achievement Award at the Saskatoon Indian and Métis Friendship Centre Aboriginal Graduation. Uhryn was captain/co-captain of the Tommy Douglas Tigers senior basketball, volleyball, badminton, cross country and track and field teams and has been a city champion 18 times across four sports. Uhryn also volunteers at Cosmopolitan Industries.

"Shayna led through commitment and hard work and always made sure that others around her had an opportunity to succeed. Shayna's work ethic was second to none," wrote Randi-Lee Loshack, a teacher and coach at Tommy Douglas, in her letter of support.

Uhryn is currently enrolled at the University of Saskatchewan with future plans to study optometry.

The award is shared with Prapti Patel who graduated from Marion M. Graham Collegiate with a 97.3 per cent average and earned 100 per cent in five of her Grade 12 courses. She has previously received school excellence awards in math, physics, French and Indigenous studies. She was a member of the school's social justice group for the past three years. Outside of school, Patel has been an active volunteer for the Gujarati Cultural Society of Saskatoon, where she organizes the afternoon youth group, and has also volunteered with the Saskatchewan Abilities Council, Saskatoon Food Bank and Friendship Inn.

"Prapti not only spent countless hours studying, but she was always keen to teach others in a kind, inclusive way," said Marion Graham teacher Brad Jorgenson in his letter of support for Patel.

Patel is undertaking a Bachelor of Science degree at the University of Saskatchewan before pursuing medicine.

Other award nominees who were recognized for their achievement are: Olivia Woo of Aden Bowman Collegiate, Caitlyn Kirkpatrick of Bedford Road Collegiate, Justin Just of Centennial Collegiate, Peter Zhai of Evan Hardy Collegiate, Jesse Selin of Mount Royal Collegiate, Anh Tong of Nutana Collegiate, and Godwin Friesen of Walter Murray Collegiate.

Established in 1990, the Award of Excellence is presented annually to the most outstanding graduate based on academic excellence, personal qualities, leadership and participation. Staff members from each public collegiate nominate a graduate to the selection committee. The winners each receive a $3,000 cash award and a medal. Nominated students are honoured and receive a $500 cash award.

Photo by Derek Mortensen