Skip to main content
Saskatoon Public Schools
Inspiring Learning
Saskatoon Public Schools offers a variety of early learning programs within its schools, including prekindergarten, an early learning intensive support program, preschool and early learning childcare. 


Prekindergarten is a developmentally appropriate early childhood education program for three- and four-year-old children who may benefit from additional supports, such as speech, language and social development programming. 

The program focuses on the development of the whole child: physical, social, emotional, spiritual and intellectual. In prekindergarten, children experience active, experiential learning through play and a comprehensive, integrated program within a prepared environment. Students, family and teachers work together to foster the child's development. 

Prekindergarten helps children to:
  • Develop language and communication skills
  • Develop problem-solving skills
  • Learn to co-operate with others
  • Make new friendships
  • Prepare for the school environment. 
When registering for the new school year, families are welcome to submit a prekindergarten application in the spring. Applications are also accepted throughout the year. Space is limited to 16 students and spaces are filled as they become available. All applications are reviewed by the school team. 

When reviewing applications, priority is given to children:
  • Who reside in the school catchment area (neighbourhood)
  • Are of the appropriate age (four-year-old children are prioritized)
  • Will most benefit from enhanced programming.
Families wishing to apply for a prekindergarten program should contact the individual school. A full list of schools including contact information is available on the School Listing page. More information is available in the prekindergarten brochure.

For a list of schools that offer half-day and full-day kindergarten, click here.

Early Learning Intensive Support Program 

Saskatoon Public Schools is a part of the Early Learning Intensive Support Program for young children who require intensive supports to meet their potential. To apply, fill out the application form and follow the included instructions for submission. For more information about prekindergarten programs, visit the Ministry of Education website


Preschools are run by private individuals and organizations. Good preschool programs promote learning and development in young children. Preschools can be located through the Saskatoon Preschool Foundation

Early Learning Childcare 

Early learning childcare centres support families and communities by promoting high-quality care for children in healthy, safe and nurturing environments. They also promote learning and development in young children. To find early learning childcare centres in your area, you can find a searchable database here

Note: The early learning childcare centres located within Saskatoon Public Schools are run by private organizations.